Erratics Cricket Club Erratics v Strongroom on Sun 23 Jun 2024 at 1.00pm
Erratics Cricket Club Lost by 99 Runs

Match report Strongroom CC were too strong for the Erratics and left no room for error, so much so that imaginative wordplay is beyond me! The tourists agreed to a timed match on a wicket that is seeing the benefits of plenty of rolling from the hire roller that seems to now reside at the Valley.

Strongroom CC batted first and showed little respect to decent opening spells from Anuj and Jonathan Robertson, who was making a guest appearance from Stokeinteignhead (and presumably Broadclyst too, based on the crest on his shirt!). Jon Gower opened the batting and hit regular boundaries over the quick outfield, and was finally bowled by Fraser for 54, while Robertson and Anuj earned a wicket each in the opening spell. Later in the innings, Chandna and Armit continued the batting onslaught, scoring 60 and 66, respectively, before being dismissed by another guest Erratic, this time from the more familiar Bernie Wilson of Sunsets CC. Strongroom left the Erratics an imposing total of 235-6 at tea.

This proved to be too many for the home side, despite notable resistance from Jonathan Robertson, who scored a very commendable 52 runs against a decent bowling attack, other Erratics failed to hang around for long. The best achievement for the side was to keep the losing margin below 3-figures, as they were bowled out for 136. Strongroom CC win by 99!

By Richard Lindsay

Strongroom Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2nb 3w 1lb 
for 6 wickets
235 (41.0 overs)
Jon Gower b  F Chave 54 70 10 77.14
R Woolhouse lbw  J Robertson 2 11 18.18
O Proctor b  A Tiwari 15 23 2 65.22
Anti Chandna st  R Lindsay B. B Wilson 60 64 9 1 93.75
D Sidall ct  J Robertson B. M Hailwood 4 9 1 44.44
J Armit ct  J Robertson B. B Wilson 66 50 8 2 132.00
U Roy Not Out  33 23 3 2 143.48
J Rahman  
D Proctor  
T Davey  
S Davey  

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Anuj Tiwari9.0148148.005.33
Jon Robertson9.0145145.005.00
Fraser Chave11.0055155.005.00
Mark Hailwood7.0045145.006.43
Bernie Wilson5.0042221.008.40

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
6nb 10w 4b  
for 10 wickets
Duncan Chave ct  M Pircceri 10 13 1 76.92
Richard Lindsay ct  M Pircceri 0 4 0
Fraser Chave ct  T Davey 15 19 3 78.95
Martin Wright b  U Roy 4 19 1 21.05
Jon Robertson b  O Proctor 52 77 10 67.53
Anuj Tiwari b  J Rahman 9 7 2 128.57
Dhruba Jyoti Goswami ct  S Davey 4 3 1 133.33
Jonathan Kirby b  S Davey 6 21 1 28.57
Roger Putman ct  O Proctor 14 17 3 82.35
Mark Hailwood b  J Armit 2 3 66.67
Bernie Wilson Not Out  0 7 0

Strongroom Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Mario Pircceri5.001527.503.00
T Davey4.0019119.004.75
D Proctor2.001400.007.00
U Roy3.0111111.003.67
J Rahman5.0112112.002.40
S Davey3.0027213.509.00
J Armit3.01616.002.00
O Proctor3.1021210.506.63
R Woolhouse1.00700.007.00