Newton Poppleford v Erratics Cricket Club Erratics on Thu 06 Jun 2024 at 6.00pm
Erratics Cricket Club Lost by 23 Runs

Match report The club Newton Poppelford, nestled to the east of Devon, was born from a meeting of locals at the Cannon Inn in 2003. Hosting the Erratics cricket club for their 13th game of the season, this Thursday evening encounter was special. The occasion was particularly memorable for two Erratics stalwarts: Anuj, celebrating his 100th match for the club, and Lee, on the cusp of his 100th wicket.

Poppelford won the toss and chose to bat on an exceptionally rare flat and bouncy pitch for this region. Lee, leading the bowling attack, claimed his 99th wicket in the very first over. Fraser, from the other end, bowled with remarkable economy, conceding only 6 runs in his 3-over spell, including a maiden, and becoming the highest wicket-taker for the Erratics with three wickets.

Lee continued his golden streak, achieving his 100th wicket for the club with a spectacular catch by Fraser. The skipper then introduced M. Crawford and J. Perkins into the attack, both of whom claimed a wicket each. DJ Goswami, after dropping several catches while adjusting to the ball's hardness, finally secured his first catch for the team. Buoyed by this success, he tried his hand at bowling after a hiatus of 10-12 years. Some economical spells from Mark, Anuj, and Duncan helped restrict Poppelford to a total of 124 runs in 20 overs. Poppelford's Ramad and Asad Ullah retired after scoring 31 and 25 runs, respectively.

Richard and Martin opened the innings for the Erratics, facing the fast and fierce bowling attack of Newton Poppelford. Richard was unfortunate to be dismissed by a beautiful delivery, bringing Fraser to the crease to build the innings with Martin. Two quick wickets from Poppelford’s fastest bowler, Asad Ullah, set the Erratics back. This brought newcomer DJ Goswami to the crease, who, buoyed by his earlier fielding success, attempted to rebuild the innings with Fraser. The innings concluded with some elegant strokes from Jon and Anuj, bringing the Erratics’ total to 101.

In the end, the Erratics' valiant efforts fell short, but the evening was marked by significant milestones and memorable moments.

DJ Goswami

Newton Poppleford Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2nb 13w 2b  
for 10 wickets
124 (20.0 overs)
Ramad Ullah b  A Tiwari 31 18 5 1 172.22
Ruurd Hartstra b  L Grant 0 1 0
Matthew Raistrick ct  M Crawford B. F Chave 1 5 20.0
Thomas Clay ct  F Chave B. L Grant 5 4 125.00
Louis Adey ct  J Kirby B. F Chave 0 3 0
Zaman Khan b  J Perkin 22 25 3 88.00
Kieran Phillips ct  & B. F Chave 0 4 0
Kieran White ct  D Goswami B. M Crawford 9 11 81.82
Asad Ullah Not Out  25 24 2 1 104.17
Adam Manakkad run out  (J Kirby) 14 21 1 66.67
Nathan Parker ct  & B. D Chave 0 5 0

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Lee Grant3.0028214.009.33
Fraser Chave3.01632.002.00
Matt Crawford3.0019119.006.33
Jon Perkin3.0022122.007.33
Mark Phillips2.001100.005.50
Dhruba Jyoti Goswami1.001700.0017.00
Anuj Tiwari3.00919.003.00
Duncan Chave2.0010110.005.00

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
3nb 19w 3b 3lb 
for 8 wickets
Richard Lindsay b  K Phillips 0 8 0
Martin Wright b  A Ullah 2 12 16.67
Fraser Chave ct  K White 9 22 1 40.91 2
Duncan Chave ct  A Ullah 0 3 0
Dhruba Jyoti Goswami b  R Ullah 14 27 2 51.85
Jon Perkin Not Out  15 18 2 83.33
Lee Grant ct  K Phillips 8 13 1 61.54
Matt Crawford b  K Phillips 0 2 0 1
Jonathan Kirby run out  (L Adey) 10 10 100 1 1
Anuj Tiwari Not Out  15 8 1 1 187.50
Mark Phillips  

Newton Poppleford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Adam Manakkad3.001600.005.33
Kieran Phillips3.001133.673.67
Asad Ullah3.00924.503.00
Thomas Clay3.01900.003.00
Ramad Ullah2.01111.000.50
Kieran White2.0011111.005.50
Zaman Khan2.001300.006.50
Nathan Parker1.001100.0011.00
Ruurd Hartstra1.001400.0014.00