Sunsets v Erratics Cricket Club Erratics on Wed 04 May 2022 at 6.00pm
Erratics Cricket Club Won by 9 Wickets

Match report The Sunsets won the toss (before sunset), and elected to bat at Coaver Club, the most local away ground for numerous Erratics, though I personally missed a repeat of last year when Matt Crawford cycled to the game in his batting helmet!

The Sunsets made an imposing start in the seemingly high-scoring ground of Coaver club -given its short boundary and predictable bounce from the artificial wicket – hitting a trio of boundaries from the opening two overs from Ben Yarde-Buller and Tim Faucett. However, the opening bowling attack retook control through tidy line and length bowling. It led to Matt Crawford snatching an impressive catch, from the bowling of BYB, just inside the boundary at deep cover. In typically style, he made look much easier than it really was by taking it in such relaxed, nonchalant fashion. An impressive feat considering the ground that he had to make up. In the same over, the replacement batsman edged a drive straight to Kyle Wedgewood at point. This catch was much more straightforward, so much so that Kyle had almost too much time to think about it, but he also made it look effortlessly cool. It seemed as though this was going to be a match where Erratics’ chances stuck, thankfully avoiding the curse of the drops that had been plaguing usually such reliable fielders in recent weeks at Spreyton and Bridford. But maybe it was just the lure of getting this game over sharpish so that a visit to the Coaver Club bar could be enjoyed before it got dark!

Once the second opening batsman retired after achieving his 25, the runs dried up for the Sunsets through a combination of neat bowling, Captain Chris Ferro’s organisation of the fielders, and a non-T20-esque approach to batting. Wickets of note include more well-taken catches including the second for Kyle, though this time he had much less time to think about it as the batsman made a solid connection to a speedy Nigel Rutherford delivery to send the ball rocketing through mid-wicket, only for Kyle to intercept the ball at head height. He later remarked that it took a few overs for the feeling to return to his hands, just in time for him to bag another Erratics’ wicket, bowling out his man for a duck. Saiful Hoda, making his debut for the Erratics, made a solid start to his bowling with a maiden over of threatening seam bowling; we look forward to seeing more! Drama came in final over of the innings as Siva Subramanian cleaned up any threat of a flurry of late runs by claiming a trio of Sunset wickets. The dismissals involved tidy wicket keeping from Jayakrupakar Nallala to take a catch and stumping, and Tim Fawcett pocketing a catch over his shoulder while backtracking at mid-off.

Although poultry should not be prematurely enumerated, with only 67 needed for victory, the lower order Erratics debated whether it would be hasty to sample the beer at the interval. Surely numbers 10 -11 wouldn’t be needed…..?! Siva and Krups confidently led the reply; scoring boundaries with a combination of elegant cover drives and pull shots, before the partnership was brought to an end when Siva misread a straight delivery and was bowled for 11. The wicket interrupted any Erratics momentum, scoring slowed as Matt Crawford and Krups sought to establish a partnership, while keeping the score ticking along. That was until Matt ruthlessly switched into boundary-hitting mode, striking four from the final nine balls of the innings to finish on 23 n.o., one short of Krups’ 24 n.o. with more than 7-overs to spare. No untimely fowl counting and plenty of time for a Sunset pint.

Richard Lindsay

Sunsets Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2nb 5w 1b  
for 8 wickets
67 (20.0 overs)
H Smalley ct  Crawford B. Yarde-Buller 8
N Shillabeer Retired Not Out  25
S Cope ct  Wedgwood B. Yarde-Buller 0
R Miszka ct  Wedgwood B. Rutherford 9
M Bourne b  Hailwood 1
P Carr ct  Nallala B. Subramanian 4
M Johns b  Wedgwood 0
J Smalley ct  Fawcett B. Subramanian 11
N Mcaleer Not Out  1
M Olczak st  Nallala B. Subramanian 0
M Potter  

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ben Yarde-Buller3.001728.505.67
Tim Fawcett2.001500.007.50
Nigel Rutherford2.00212.001.00
Mark Hailwood4.0213113.003.25
Kyle Wedgwood4.01414.001.00
Saiful Hoda3.01800.002.67
Richard Lindsay1.00400.004.00
Sivaraman Subramanian1.00331.003.00

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
6w 3b 1lb 
for 1 wickets
Sivaraman Subramanian b  Mcaleer 11 15 2 73.33
Jayakrupakar Nallala Not Out  24 38 3 63.16 1 1
Matt Crawford Not Out  23 22 5 104.55 1
Richard Lindsay  
Tim Fawcett   1
Nigel Rutherford  
Ben Yarde-Buller  
Kyle Wedgwood   2
Mark Hailwood  
Chris Ferro  
Saiful Hoda  

Sunsets Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
J Smalley3.001300.004.33
N Mcaleer2.0012112.006.00
M Potter3.001600.005.33
H Smalley2.00600.003.00
M Olczak1.00900.009.00
R Miszka0.30800.0016.00