Newton Poppleford v Erratics Cricket Club Erratics on Thu 28 Jul 2022 at 6.00pm
Erratics Cricket Club Won by 6 Wickets

Match report If tabloids covered the Erratics…

By our cricket correspondent, A. Hack

Amazing scenes unfolded at Back Lane last night as the Erratics chased down 141 to extend their unbeaten run to ELEVEN games.

Head honcho Fraser Shave, 31, has now won all THIRTEEN games he has skippered this season. In an interview with our reporter late last night he said: ‘Credit to the lads. We just ask them to go out and express themselves and execute their skills, and they always give it 110%’.

The Exeter Uni boffins found themselves bowling first, and Pop went off with a bang, despatching boundaries over the parched outfield as they raced to 30 off just THREE overs. But the innings fizzled out as the old adage ‘catches win matches’ came true with the Erratics grabbing SEVEN to keep the scoring in check.

‘Horses-for-courses’ bowling selection, Jonny Kirkby, 51, of Exeter, was the pick of the bowlers, taking 2 for 17 off 3 overs at the death. In an interview with our reporter late last night he said: ‘I just tried to express myself’.

Typical public-sector workers, the Erratics were enjoying their retirements. Lindsay Richards, 31, of Exeter; Ben ‘Babe’ Bully, 51, of Exeter; and Martin Write, 51, of Exeter, all amassed enough runs to be allowed to go off and put their feet up. Newby Joe Yarde-Buller, 31, of Exeter, was unlucky to smash his first ever ball in cricket straight into the hands of the cover fielder. Speaking to our reporter late last night he said: ‘I gave it 110%’.

It was left to the captain to steer the ship home, creaming the ball to the boundary rope FIVE times to see the Erratics to victory with an over to spare. ‘We executed our skills’, he said, in an interview with our reporter late last night.

Newton Poppleford Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
1nb 1w  
for 8 wickets
140 (20.0 overs)
A Perram ct  Tiwari B. Hailwood 20
K Phillips ct  BYB B. Grant 6
M Raistrick ct  F Chave B. Tiwari 22
L Adey (jnr) ct  Kirby B. F Chave 10
L Adey (snr) Not Out  29
D Ames ct  BYB B. F Chave 18
K White ct  Tiwari B. Kirby 8
R Pugsley Not Out  15
R Hext ct  Lindsay B. D Chave 5
K Clay st  Lindsay B. Kirby 5

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Lee Grant3.0015115.005.00
Mark Hailwood3.0027127.009.00
Anuj Tiwari3.0022122.007.33
Fraser Chave2.0020210.0010.00
Ben Yarde-Buller3.001900.006.33
Duncan Chave3.0020120.006.67
Jonathan Kirby3.001728.505.67

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 6w 6b 2lb 
for 4 wickets
Duncan Chave b  Armes 19 23 2 82.61
Richard Lindsay Retired Not Out  27 18 6 150.0 1 1
Ben Yarde-Buller Retired Not Out  27 21 4 1 128.57 2
Anuj Tiwari st  Adey (snr) 7 7 1 100 2
Martin Wright Retired Not Out  25 24 3 104.17
Fraser Chave Not Out  22 17 5 129.41 1
Joe Yarde-Buller ct  Hext 0 1 0
Lee Grant ct  Hext 0 2 0
Jonathan Kirby Not Out  0 1 0
Mark Hailwood  
N.O. One  

Newton Poppleford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
R Pugsley2.001000.005.00
R Hext3.001125.503.67
K White2.002100.0010.50
D Armes2.0015115.007.50
L Adey (snr)2.4013113.004.88
K Phillips2.002300.0011.50
L Adey (jnr)3.002300.007.67
A Peram2.001600.008.00