Erratics Cricket Club Erratics v Mystics and Magicians on Sat 03 Aug 2013 at 2:30pm
Match was Drawn

Match report Match drawn. Erratics retain the Chairman’s Cup

Peter Thomson reports

Here’s a strange thing. In last year’s match against the Mystics, the Erratics held on for a draw with the score at 118 for 9. This year – what is it about the number 118 – Martin Wright reached last year’s total (65.6% of the whole) off his own bat, and it was the turn of the Mystics to hold out for a draw. I suppose that means that, over the 2 years, the Mystics have won by 2 runs.

There’s not really much to report about our innings – apart from Martin Wright’s larruping knock, the sound of his deep breathing as he galloped over the final furlong and his game-changing partnership of over 100 for the third wicket with Andrew Forrester. By then, Mark Phillips had stoutly refused to be run out by Andrew McRae, who responded – like Joe Root in the second innings at Old Trafford – by declining to get off the mark for 44 balls. Lucky Bandhu featured twice; the first time when he strode out to the middle to replace an insouciant Andrew Forrester, who had briefly returned to the pavilion for a performance-enhancing injection; the second time to be run out when Martin opted for a cheeky single to silly mid off. We faced exactly 40 overs and would bowl 37; just about the right balance in a time game.

Tea was taken in quiet sunshine, and there was a desultory trooping of Erratics onto the field, where battle commenced with a maiden over from Gareth Oughton. The opening partnership of Adi Borley and Sid Thomson pushed the Mystics close to 50 before Phil Power, less than half way through a 13-over spell, found the edge of Sid’s bat. Andrew Forrester’s wicket-keeping was quietly efficient throughout, and once Lucky had yorked Adi, wickets fell regularly to our slow bowlers. Sophie’s 8-over spell augurs well for the future of women’s cricket in Devon – and it remains true that my love of the Erratics would find its supreme expression if I could persuade Sarah Taylor to turn out for us. (I did get a promise from Viv Richards – during lunch after he got his Honorary Doctorate – to play for us at Lustleigh, but then he left Somerset for Glamorgan after he and Ian Botham had tangled with Peter Roebuck. Probably a good thing. What if he’d gone first ball to a grubber from Sean Wright? And anyway, Viv’s cover-drive has nothing on Sarah Taylor’s.) Dominic Prosser nailed Duncan Chave – again! And Andrew McRae took a startling (this may be a less accurate participle than ‘startled’) catch to dismiss Chris Squire off Gareth Oughton. But the last pair held out for the draw.

Did anyone else notice the couple of prospective buyers at the far side of the next field during our innings? The danger of losing the ground to land-hungry second homers from the capitalist regions, where Osbornes speak only to Camerons and Camerons speak only to God, looms over Dunsford. Intervention from anyone with a bridge-player’s skill in pre-emptive bidding would be welcome.

Team: Andrew McRae, Mark Phillips, Martin Wright, Andrew Forrester, Lucky Bandhu, Penny Price, Phil Power, Dominic Prosser, Sophie Florides, Gareth Oughton, Peter Thomson (capt.).

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Andrew McRae b Webb 0
Mark Phillips ct S Thomson, b. Gray 5
Martin Wright st S Thomson, b. J Thomson 118
Andrew Forrester ct Sheperd, b. Gray 25
Lucky Bandhu Run out  2
Penny Price Not Out  8
Phil Power Not Out  1
Dominic Prosser  
Sophie Florides  
Gareth Oughton  
Peter Thomson  

Mystics and Magicians Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
F Chave7.012200.003.14
D Chave5.012700.005.40
J Thomson2.0022122.0011.00

Mystics and Magicians Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 9 wickets
120 (37.0 overs)
A Borley b Bandhu 27
S Thomson ct Forrester, b. Power 26
F Chave b Power 9
D Sheperd ct Forrester, b. Power 1
M Sharland lbw Florides 3
D Matravers ct McRae, b. Florides 2
D Chave b Prosser 9
C Squire ct Wright, b. Oughton 13
J Thomson b Florides 0
JC Gray Not Out  14
S Webb Not Out  0

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Gareth Oughton8.0231131.003.87
Phil Power13.032939.672.23
Lucky Bandhu3.0113113.004.33
Sophie Florides8.0138312.674.75
Dominic Prosser5.03212.000.40