Lympstone v Erratics Cricket Club Erratics on Thu 04 Jun 2015 at 6.15pm
Match was Tied

Match report B.Youngman and J.Haynes opened the bowling, after a shaky first couple of overs things started to go well. The first wicket fell in the third over, a calm in the face of the sun catch by Matt at the around point area. The next wicket fell in the next over as Jeff made wickets and bails fly everywhere. They then entered in to a partnership between number 2 batsman T.Garner and Ben “The Traitor” Abrahams. This carried on for 32 runs before a change of bowling bought S.Florides to the ball, along with Cpt. Wright a devious plan was devised: the plan to leave the number 2 batsman’s favourite Cow Corner undefended in an effort to get him to try and hit it there and fail. At least that is how I saw it. The plan obviously worked on the first ball and the partnership was defeated. But Sophie was not finished yet, she preceded beat the bat of Abrahams and, with M.Hailwood providing excellent back up from the other end, his wicket soon fell. The run rate was kept largely under control for the next few overs, but no more wickets fell until the bowling of P.Kripakaran and L.Bandu was initiated. The hosts finally finished their overs one short of a century at 99 for 7.

As the sun lowered and the temperature rapidly decreased it was our turn to bat, L.Bandu and me were chosen to open and we secured a couple of maidens before I fell with a mistimed top edge. C.Ferro, fresh from his 66.67% effective catching effort was the next to take the walk to the crease. Lucky soon fell after an unsuccessful leg glance was caught and Cpt.Wright took to the batting, he was there long enough to expertly despatch a ball to the boundary and then was expertly bowled. J.Kirby joined Ferro at the crease and began the task of getting us out of the precarious position of 32 for 3 from 10 overs. Capt.Wright now returned to his rather chilly team was slowing becoming more frustrated with the lack of given no-balls and so he swiftly replaced Guy Clarks umpiring, where he preceded to not give a no-ball and miss out a ball. “They must be near 25 now” questioned Gary Abrahams from the square leg umpire position for the third time as Kirby and Ferro neared the retirement score. With our total nearing the required 100 Kirby and Ferro did both indeed retire. Then we started loosing wickets. “I have a bad feeling about this” said Kirby as the required total reached 5 of 12 balls. Following a Maiden the required total now 5 of 6 balls. Two runs were scored and one wicket fell and with Jeff at the non-strikers end and Mark facing the required total was 3 of 2. The first of the last two balls saw Mark refuse a single, unfortunately Jeff was already half way down the crease and was therefore run out. Out came the cold B.Youngman to stand at the non-strikers end. Tensions were high as the final ball was bowled, Mark got hold of the ball and hit it high and straight, it fell short of the boundary but more importantly it fell away from the hands of any fielders. The batsmen ran one, then a second one, then Ben managed a third. Mark however did not, and the game ended with a glorious tie. It was decided that Ben was the only winner of the game having completed the winning run.

“I have a good feeling about this,” said Jonathan just as he was about to leave in the car with Jeff… and the game was summed up perfectly as a Tie that should have been a victory but was almost a loss.

Fraser Chave

Lympstone Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2w 1b  
for 10 wickets
99 (20.0 overs)
Cooke ct  Crawford b Youngman 6
Garner ct  Ferro b Florides 21
Barry b  Haynes 1
Abrahams B b  Florides 23
Kelly b  Bandhu 11
McGregor b  Kripakaran 17
Ferro ct  Ferro b Bandhu 11
Mander Not Out  5
Rendle Not Out  1

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ben Youngman4.0024124.006.00
Jeff Haynes4.011728.504.25
Mark Hailwood3.001600.005.33
Sophie Florides4.001527.503.75
Prakash Kripakaran3.0016116.005.33
Lucky Bandhu2.00924.504.50

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 7w 3b  
for 10 wickets
Lucky Bandhu ct  McGregor 19
Fraser Chave ct  Boatwright 3
Chris Ferro Retired Not Out  27
Martin Wright b  Kelly 5
Jonathan Kirby Retired Not Out  27
Matt Crawford Run out  2
Prakash Kripakaran ct  Abrahams 3
Sophie Florides b  Abrahams 0
Jeff Haynes Run out  0
Mark Hailwood Not Out  2
Ben Youngman Not Out  0

Lympstone Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ingham, B4.02515.001.25
Abrahams, B2.00522.502.50