Newton Poppleford v Erratics Cricket Club Erratics on Thu 23 Aug 2007 at 6.00pm
Erratics Cricket Club Lost by 22 runs

Match report by Ollie Creighton

It was third time lucky for a renewed Newton Poppleford side who pipped the Erratics to the post in what turned out to be the season’s first – and perhaps last – day-nighter.

Newton Poppleford reached 134 for 7, with Simon Orpen snatching vital wickets down the order and Ken Horne extracting devastating spin and bounce to prove unplayable at times and leaving at least one opposition batsman totally befuddled with a ball that turned square and removed his middle stump. Other highlights included a stinging catch taken at mid off by Ollie Creighton and a stunning direct hit on the stumps from long leg by Greg Richmond, although the batsman proved to be well in.

The Erratics innings started badly as a young tyro quickly labelled “The Newton Poppleford Express” cut a swathe of destruction through the top order. Al Brunt (‘Mr Elegance’) and Guy Clarke fell not long after, despite some adventurous strokeplay, leaving Jonathan Kirby and Greg Richmond to restore hope with a brief orgy of runs and glove punching.

“It’s a long way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ roll” was the confident AC/DC-inspired war cry of Matt Cooke as he marched out to bat, but “Highway to Hell” would have been more appropriate as he marched back shortly afterwards following a one-handed blaze of glory.

As darkness descended the stage was set of a replay of Thorpe and Hussain’s famous last stand in the Karachi gloom of 2000. When moonlight eventually illuminated the scoreboard with two overs remaining the batsmen realised it was too late to accelerate the run-rate and the Erratics were left wondering what might have been…

Newton Poppleford Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 7 wickets
134 (20.0 overs)

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 19w 2b 2lb 
for 8 wickets
Al Brunt ct  Thomas 15
Martin Weiler b  Raistrick 0
Ollie Creighton b  Raistrick 1
Guy Clarke b  Stone 1
Jonathan Kirby b  Morrison 24
Greg Richmond Run out  21
Matt Cook b  Stott 9
Phil Ellis Not Out  7
Simon Orpen ct  Morrison 2
Ken Horne Not Out  9
John Pearson  

Newton Poppleford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.