Erratics Cricket Club Erratics v President's XI on Mon 31 Aug 2020 at 13:00
Match was Drawn

Match report A wonderful day’s friendly but competitive cricket – with major thanks to Fraser for his superb arrangements, choreographing of the teams and setting the tone for the spirit of the match. Erraticism at its very best.

There is some sadness that a much loved bank holiday all day game at Teign Valley is now no more. But an inter Club game with the President’s X1 was a popular idea for a replacement.

There is history behind the fixture. The Erratics have only ever had four Presidents. Vera Lloyd, widow of our founder John Lloyd, was the first to be bestowed the title which she carried until her death in 1992. Her successor was Keith Salter, one time Secretary and according to the second book ‘hitter of sixes’. Keith’s son David is second on the all time list of Erratics appearances on 642. Keith (124 appearances) was followed by Stephen Fisher. No Erratic has played in more seasons than Stephen – 43 (521 appearances).

Erratics of a real vintage would be turning in their graves to think that their club had a Committee and minuted meetings. But by the new Millennium that was the way of things and this is where we discover how the Presidential baton passed from Stephen to current incumbent Peter Thomson.

The minutes of the committee meeting held at The Jolly Porter on 26 October 2001 have an item ‘The Post of President’. It is recorded that ‘John Somers (Chair) told the meeting that he had recently been informed by Stephen Fisher of his intention to step down as President.....after some discussion the meeting decided that Peter Thomson should be approached to see if he would be prepared to take over Stephen’s duties’.

Over the years we have played various X1s with a strong Erratics component or connection. There was a game v Jim Thomson’s X1 in 1984, a Dennis Lane X1 in 1994 (to mark his retirement as groundsman at Gras Lawn) and more recently Sophie’s X1 last year.

The earliest match v a President’s X1 that I have found was in 1987 – played on a Wednesday afternoon. Academics had time for such luxury back then. There was then a decade’s gap before 5 games were played between 1998 and 2001. There was supposed to be another in 2002 (it was on the fixture list) but it was mysteriously replaced by an encounter with the Mystics (they of Erratic roots too).

As we gathered for this year’s revival of the fixture it was particularly pleasing to have playing the third generation of two legendary Erratic families. In the home side was Oscar Cammack, grandson of Bill Parker (590 appearances). As Bill and daughter Tamsin (Oscar’s mum) had both played in previous President’s games Oscar was really continuing a family tradition.

And of course also playing were Duncan Chave (for Erratics) and his son Fraser (captaining the President’s X1). Grandad Peter Thomson (584 appearances) had played in these fixtures previously so we had another family hat trick.

Thanks to the generosity of Stokeinteignhead Cricket Club we had the use of the beautifully setting of their Netherton Park ground. For the second day running we had the rare treat of a timed game and after winning the toss Fraser elected to bat in the afternoon sunshine.

Ben Youngman is having a superb season and took his first scalp by inducing Rik Lindsey to hit his own wicket. There must be something about this fixture. Hitting Wicket is a very rare form of dismissal but later Martin Wright was to suffer the same fate. Back in the 1997 game Richard West was out this way too.

Before that the run out of opener Ian Hooper had brought veteran Erratic Peter Colclough to the crease. No current Erratic has played for as long as Peter who made his debut in 1976. After watching his first two balls with intense wariness he then gloriously off drove the next for four. Back in the groove he dug in for over 50 deliveries before being trapped LBW for 14 having achieved a fifty partnership with Krupakar. Krups went on to top score with an excellent 37 before being out to a well judged Jonathan Kirby catch in the deep.

A late flurry by Fraser (28 no) and Chris Saunders, a welcome guest from Stokeinteignhead, (32 no) saw the President’s X1 to 152-7 at tea. Ben Youngman, Mark Hailwood, Phil Power and Matt Crawford had all bowled miserly spells and each deservedly had a wicket or more against their name; Matt the pick with 3-29. Oscar showed plenty of promise and bowls it quicker than his Grandad!

Tea was delayed for a socially distanced photocall with the President. Urged to say a few words Peter kept it simple with a rousing “Thanks for playing chaps”. Tea was then further delayed by Jonathan urging all backsliders to buy a copy of the new book. His marketing strategy – no match sub if you buy a copy - seemed to work as several walked away with the mighty tome.

The Erratics started well but with a few alarms – Krups managing to juggle a chance and complete his forlorn attempt with a summersault. The top order did their bit with Duncan Chave (40) and skipper Mark Hailwood (20) showing how it could be done. But rather like the day before at Mount Edgcumbe their teammates did not follow suit. Only Andrew Forrester with a superb 33 including five boundaries stopped the rot of single digit scores. And he fell finally to a tumbling catch by Emdad Aziz.

All the President’s bowlers had kept it tight with Fraser (4-33), a resurgent Jeff Haynes (2-15), Bernie Wilson (1-25) and Chris Saunders (2-10) taking the wickets. An honourable mention to Mustafi Emdad who turned the ball and nicely varied his pace throughout his spell. The fielders also had the benefit of rolling subs to keep their 12 person team down to 11 at any one time. Quite confusing at times with sanitisation and substitution breaks.

The beauty of a timed game is a draw is added to the possible outcomes. To their credit the Erratics went for victory but fell short on 140-9 and so a draw it was. But the sight of an entire team of fielders crowded round the last batsmen was a throwback to the era when timed cricket was the norm. Judging by the oohs and aahhs it was one enjoyed by all.

So a thoroughly happy afternoon. And one that had participants talking about a repeat next season. Could this be the start of a new August Bank Holiday tradition?

Martin Weiler

President's XI Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
4nb 9w 2b  
for 7 wickets
152 (40.0 overs)
William Kay b  Hailwood 17 2
Ian Hooper run out  Crawford 0
Peter Colclough lbw  Crawford 14 2
Richard Lindsey hit wicket  Youngman 11 1
Jayakrupakar Nallala ct  Kirby b. Crawford 37 6
Daniel Sved b  Power 0
Emdad Aziz ct  Power b. Crawford 0
Fraser Chave Not Out  28 3
Chris Saunders Not Out  32 4
Mustafi Emdad  
Jeff Haynes  
Bernie Wilson  

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ben Youngman9.0223123.002.56
Mark Hailwood7.0117117.002.43
Oscar Cammack6.002600.004.33
Phil Power8.0122122.002.75
Matt Crawford7.002939.674.14
Martin Weiler3.003100.0010.33

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
7nb 3w 5b 2lb 
for 9 wickets
Duncan Chave lbw  Chave 40 6
Martin Wright hit wicket  Wilson 8 1
Mark Hailwood lbw  Haynes 20 2
Martin Weiler b  Chave 5
Jonathan Kirby b  Chave 0 1
Penny Price b  Saunders 8 1
Oscar Cammack b  Haynes 0
Andrew Forrester ct  Aziz b. Saunders 33 5
Ben Youngman ct  Nallala b. Chave 6 1
Phil Power Not Out  3 1
Matt Crawford Not Out  0
N.O. One  

President's XI Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Bernie Wilson9.0225125.002.78
Emdad Aziz7.013000.004.29
Jeff Haynes8.021527.501.88
Fraser Chave8.013348.254.13
Mustafi Emdad4.011700.004.25
Chris Saunders5.011025.002.00