Newton Poppleford v Erratics Cricket Club Erratics on Sun 16 Aug 2015 at 2.30pm
Erratics Cricket Club Won by 206 runs

Match report It might seem an odd conclusion to draw, but the fact that this may well have been a record Erratics winning margin did not make this one of the more enjoyabe afternoons of the season. Our familiar foes Newton Pop were missing a few of their better players, and we were fielding a remarkably strong side - the result was a rather one-sided affair that was out of character with our usual tough tussles against the Pop. I'm sure our next game out there will be a return to the norm, as they will no doubt be keen to avenge this defeat.

Skipper Hailwood won the toss and opted to have a bat on what is a good battng surface - Sidmouth maintain the ground and use it for their second XI - with the Erratics most successful formula this season in mind - bat first, well, and then bowl a side out. It went even better than could have been expected: Nigel was promoted to open on the back of a rich recent vein of form, and duly went on to further demonstrate his calibre as an all-round cricketer, notching up a fine opener's fifty. Duncan was forced to retire hurt with a dodgy hamstring after a promising start, and Krups had a very rare failure, but neither event derailed us for long, as Lucky and Matt Cook came together to put on a marvellous display of big hitting to take us to a formidable total of 251.

With a good bowling attack at our disposal it looked like plenty, and a typically frugal opening spell from Ben Youngman soon put the run-rate out of sight. Fraser cashed in on the pressure, and bowled with real intelligence to pick-up his first Erratics 5-for as Newton Pop were forced to go all out attack. Guy Clarke returned a useful spell in his first bowl of the season, and the wickets kept tumbling, until all of a sudden Newton Pop were all out for 45 in 22 overs, and we had won by over 200 runs. All very un-Erratic.

Summary by Mark Hailwood

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 3 wickets

(40.0 overs)
Duncan Chave Retired Not Out  28
Nigel Rutherford Caught  50
Jayakrupakar Nallala Caught  4
Lucky Bandhu Not Out  71
Matt Cook Caught  61
Martin Weiler Not Out  2
Guy Clarke  
Chris Ferro  
Fraser Chave  
Mark Hailwood  
Ben Youngman  

Newton Poppleford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Newton Poppleford Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
45 (22.2 overs)

Erratics Cricket Club Erratics Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Ben Youngman6.0110110.001.67
Fraser Chave8.021653.202.00
Guy Clarke5.0112112.002.40
Mark Hailwood3.01723.502.33
Martin Weiler0.20010.000.00